Kemo'o Farms Pub and Grill has established a reputation for good food and a friendly atmosphere. Our pub and grill has a long and unique history of serving the people of Wahiawa, Hawaii.
Old Kemo'o Farms
Kemo'o Farms began in 1909 as a pig farm north of Schofield Barracks. It later moved to its present location across from Macomb Gate. Properly pronounced "kay-moe-o" in Hawaiian, Kemo'o means lizard or reptile. The farm expanded in 1919 to include a milk depot, an ice cream parlor, coffee shop, and market.
In 1920, a young soldier named Leo B Rodby, a newcomer to Hawaii, took a part-time job at the farm. In 1930, he bought the controlling interest in the corporation. A year later, he and his wife, Carita Fisher Rodby, had a son named Richard H (Dick) Rodby.
The farm was discontinued in 1934. The next year, a dining room overlooking the lake was opened, prompting long lines of soldiers eager for one of their sizzling steaks. During World War II, even the generals stood in line!
In 1953, Leo passed away. His son, Dick, became the president of Kemo'o Farms in 1958. Dick is active in the Hawaiian Music Hall of Fame. The Rodby family even donated the land lease under six condominiums at Kemo'o by the Lake to the music organization, worth an appraised value of $139,000.
Contact us to become a part of the exciting history of our pub and grill.